Episode 004

How much could have possibly happened in the 9 days that have passed since our last episode went live? Well, there was Microsoft’s Windows Phone Summit, where we heard about Windows Phone 7.8 and Windows Phone 8. And then last night Google I/O kicked off, where we saw Android 4.1 Jelly Bean, the Nexus 7, the Nexus Q, and a bunch of people jump out of a plane. We’re not making the last one up. Promise!

As always, if you could provide us with any feedback to help us improve the show then it would be greatly appreciated.

[Episode 004, 33 minutes 43 seconds, 32.4 MB]

Episode 004

15 thoughts on “Episode 004

  1. Good stuff again guys, gets better each time.

    Impressions – Stefan, down on everything this week! You get out the wrong side of bed? 😉

    Like the explain stuff to James and get reactions format, works well.

    WP8 stuff – pretty much agree with all you say. The developer pickup will be key. Though at the same time, why develop for WP7 now, when no-one will buy WP7 handsets? Ok you can port to WP8, but that sounds like doing the same job twice… However I’m booked on a (sold out!) Nokia/MS WP7 dev camp in Edinburgh on Saturday…so there is clearly some interest. I’ll be interested to see a) what the developers attending think, and b) how the nokia/ms guys there will be trying to persuade us to code for WP7. Be a tough gig for them I reckon after WWDC/IO…

    FWIW, and I’ve no idea if this is typical, my reasons for going, and being excited about W8 etc: For the sort of stuff I do, the idea of producing the same code, and just recompiling/new UI for different devices appeals be it a surface, laptop, phone…plus company specific app stores would mean being able to privately distribute an app, update it etc. Nice. It’s *likely* that Win8 will appear in the corporate world, so knowing how to code for that, for metro, appeals. So I’m going to learn the “new windows” way of doing things, more than WP7. And hey, maybe it’ll mean next time I need to whip up an app for something, I’ll not just reach for android cos it’s what I know, I’ll reach for WP8 cos it offers something extra?

    To continue this epic comment (thought provoking podcast guys), what would really kick up a fuss would be if the nokia reps at this event rock up with one/some/lots of those proto win8 dev devices. I know that’d create excitement, who doesn’t like seeing shiny new gadgets? It’d certainly make me go away thinking “that wp7 dev camp was an exciting day” …unless the talks are really boring 😉 That’ll never happen though (for many reasons), I’ll have to content myself with hopefully getting hands on a 900 for a play.

    1. Hey Iain, thanks for the feedback (and listenership), it’s appreciated – much!

      WP8 – 100% agree. However, don’t forget that *all* WP7(.5) apps will run on WP8. So, irrespective of what tools you’ll get to play with, whatever you make will still run on those handsets.

      Will you be blogging after you go? Would love to know what you make of it.

    2. Stefan Constantinescu says:

      Hey Ian, it’s not that I woke up on the wrong side of the bed, I’m just not impressed by promises. Show me products! People don’t realize that Windows Phone 8 devices aren’t going to hit the market for at least three months.

      Have fun at this developer event you mention, but I’ve just got to wonder, if your apps are responsible for putting food on the table, then why not go with iOS?

      1. Good point about the food, I alluded to it a bit with “what I do” knowing James knows me/kinda what I do, but I’ll elaborate for others.

        I don’t produce and sell apps, I’m a computer science researcher (more specifically AI related stuff). So what this means is I often have to produce prototypes, technology demonstrators, specific interfaces/applications to do things, to run experiments etc. So as the apps never have to be sold, and will never see mass market I’m (uniquely?) free to choose the platform/implementation method that offers the most benefits to what I’m doing.

        For the past year, that’s been Android – what it offers me is the ability to run Java code with little/no modification. In this case, a bunch of other code for other agent embodiments (Robots, virtual characters etc) on the project was in Java, so I could take that and use it directly in the mobile-phone embodiment I was working on.

        This might make more sense with a video:

        The stuff I work on directly is from about 3min on – indoor turn-by-turn navigation round a building.

        Some of that stuff looks odd I know, why are we doing it? That’d be another long comment… 😉 http://www.lirec.eu for more.

    1. Disagree on the non-SIM card – wouldn’t it be cheaper/easier/better to just pick up a MiFi and be done with it? Why pay for access on a single device (limited by IMEI/serial number, even) when you can pay the same (at least in the U.S.) for access for up to 8 devices, easily swapped?

  2. Nice format. I find it odd to hear Stefan telling James so much stuff he doesn’t know already.

    If the Nexus Q turned into a cheaper home stereo system like Sonim then I’d be tempted for it. One feature I really like the look of is the ability to choose which of your Nexus Q’s it will play on (e.g. turn music on in the Kitchen). With bluetooth or NFC etc they have so many great possibilities with this device.

    Nexus 7 tablet? I agree with James that there should have been a 3G variant but I also wish there was a 10″ version too.

    Jelly Bean kicks ass! If you have a Galaxy Nexus then chances are you can probably root it and get Android 4.1 on there right now, I did so yesterday! There aren’t masses of improvements over 4.0.4 but it’s always nice to get updates.

    Also loving the latest Google+ app released at the same time as IO. The new Android UI is much improved and the event functionality is very clever to release at such a big event – really encourages a massive demo of it.

    It also made me wonder how effective Hangout broadcasting is. Could Hangouts provide an alternative to a chatty Skype-based podcast?

    1. Hey David, thanks for the listenership! 🙂

      I’ve had a lot of work on of late and haven’t been able to keep up on the news as much as Stefan – PLUS, it’s actually Stefan’s *job* to know the news, so I like to let him regale me (and the listeners) with THE FACTS, before we dive into discussion. Although I’m wary we might turn into Pinky & The Brain 😉

      Good point re the Q, but that would mean having more than one device right? OUCH, that’s expensive.

      Re Jellybean, I don’t suppose you’ve heard/read of any versions that run on the Nexus S yet have you?

  3. James I am calling you out on the Deal Breaking no sim card in the Nexus 7 .

    First lets look to a couple of articles one from 2005 : http://online.wsj.com/article_email/SB111766388443848621-IBjfINmlah4npuuZ3yGbKiEm5.html and then again a more recent post : http://www.theverge.com/2012/7/5/3138711/five-years-after-the-iphone-carriers-are-the-biggest-threat-to-innovation-editorial

    Now from one post to the other we see that Apple went from not wanting to release Mobile to releasing a mobile and then in the last 7 years how much has really changed on that platform versus how much have carriers backed away from offering data without borders ?

    Sims are a contract for suffocation; they are an ongoing crippling requirement to tether yourself to a provider who is desperate to control your content, your bandwidth and your upgrades.

    Wifi is a network device underneath an operating system and behind the glass. Wifi means I can run Sip or Skype or Google Hangout or Gotomeeting or youtube or iPlayer or … well you get my point.

    Over the next 5 years people will use their voice less and less just as many are not caring about their land lines ability to make and receive calls. Data is where we will be tomorrow and Wifi means no simm, no suffocation and no contracts.

    Free your mobile ,and the rest will follow !

    1. Nice call out BUT, the key part of your argument is undermined by this one statement: ‘over the next five years’

      Technology / Bandwidth / Wifi coverage simply isn’t ready (enough) to cope with this. The networks won’t let go of their frequencies that easily and will strive to keep customers using their services for as long as possible.

      For someone like me, who needs to be connected all the time, no matter where I am, then a SIM card enabled tablet is the only solution. The fragmented world of wifi (both in coverage and in service providers) means that your well-structured argument simply doesn’t hold any water.

  4. What I love most about this podcast show is that I feel like I’m part of the conversation like Iain said a few weeks ago, you just want to jump in with your two cents (hint get guest podders in the future)

    What I also love and what is so refrrshing is that you you almost don’t agree 😉 meaning we get more views and thoughts on topics rather than two dudes just saying awesome in different ways, keep it guys

Leave a Reply

